Day Five – It’s Howdy Dowdy Time with the Giant Head of Eddie Izzard!

Monday wakes with my regular alarm clock. Could switch it off but my holiday spirit doesn’t provide enough energy.

Enough time spent around the flat, it is clean enough to my standards (even if they are low).

The film to be viewed were selected to the location.

Grab my gear and take a book as I want to miss the busy rush hour traffic. On the bus reading Elmore Leanord’s Rum Punch my eye catches a sight I have never seen before – a man in a Domino’s billboard advertising himself by the roundabout.

Me and bus driver know that there are no Dominos on this route so we keep heading into town with everyone else in tow.

I am in the bar now. It is busy. I grab a beer and look for a seat. I find one, not caring for who is in front of me and pull out Leanord’s Rum Punch while I sip the nectar.

It is finish and I make my way upstairs to sit for Castles in the Sky which has Eddie Izzard playing an untold hero saving WWII Britain. This is the story of Robert Watson-Watt and his ragtag band of weatherman as they help create radar. Again, humour and drama mix will along with using stock footage to build tension of the world outside. Must read more about our local heroes.

Credits roll, Q&A kicks in and the producer, writer and cast form under the giant head of Eddie Izzard looking down at us. Insights given, how the accent was developed and a member of Watson-Watts relative in the audience conveys their thanks though the Watson-Watt society were not in the room – probably polishing his statue.

Clear out. Down the stairs. Grab a pint. Up the stairs and sit down the second viewing begins – Cold in July.

It had been difficult to avoid the talk about this film when I went and saw Don Johnson being interviewed that parts of this film come up but I managed it well.

The screen comes up telling us it is 1989 and shot happens to spurn a chain of events. The film echoes of the era – synthesisers, John Carpenter and a mullet.

Jim Mickle directs this well enough to keep follow and capture a mix of genres. It has a truth that Don Johnson has one of the best intros for a character in a film that makes me want to look for series of books that his characters appear.

Time for a coffee at the bar and the bus home. There is more to come.

Leave a Reply

